The Avett Brothers - True Sadness
Magnolia Record Club

The Avett Brothers - True Sadness

Regular price $28.00 $0.00

With echoes of old-timey string bands, singalong folk revivalists,boozy Americana roots rockers and big-box singer – songwriter softies, the Avett Brothershave carved out a remarkably successful 21st-century space for themselves. On each of their last three albums, producer Rick Rubin has helped shape their sound without changing the artisanal recipe. On True Sadness, however, the hip-hop-schooled song swami finally, gently, ushers the Avetts into the pop arena. Some may be startled. But given their restless ambition and Rubin’s pedigree (everything from the Beastie Boys to Jay Z to Tom Petty), the only surprise is that this move comes on what, by some measures, is their most heart-baring LP, staring down loss and fingering scars amid the good-time jams.

-Excerpt from Will Hermes, Rolling Stone 


1. Ain't No Man 

2. Mama, I Don't Believe 

3. No Hard Feelings 

4. Smithsonian 

5. You Are Mine 

6. Satan Pulls The Strings 

7. True Sadness 

8. I Wish I Was 

9. Fisher Road to Hollywood 

10. Victims of Life 

11. Divorce Separation Blues 

12. May It Last 


More from this collection